The One and Only Maynard Ferguson


Recorded only week’s before Maynard’s death, The One and Only Maynard Ferguson is a celebration of Maynard’s long and productive career. ¬†Former sidemen return to provide creative new arrangements and swinging performances.




  1. Without A Song
  2. Besame Mucho
  3. Ain’t No Sunshine When She’s Gone
  4. Vita Bella
  5. Dr. Fox PHD
  6. Lost Horizons
  7. Surviving Soho
  8. The Days of Wine and Roses
  9. Darn That Dream

Recorded at Bennett Studios in Englewood, NJ, following a sold out engagement in New York City at the famed Blue Note Jazz Club, this album includes Ferguson’s last recordings along with marquis alumni from decades of jazz music they shared together.

Ferguson, affectionately known as “The Boss,”worked with hundreds of musicians worldwide throughout his more than six decades in the business. He often enlisted the musical and composition talents of notable and famous alumni including Wayne Bergeron, Denis DiBlasio, Chip McNeill, and Steve Wiest as well as many of his Big Bop Nouveau Band members.

These talented individuals are just a handful of featured musicians on The One and Only Maynard Ferguson CD. This recording contains nine tracks — five are new takes on old favorites including “The Days of Wine and Roses” and “Besame Mucho,” where fans will enjoy a dueling trumpet duet between Ferguson and Wayne Bergeron. Other tunes include three original compositions by Denis DiBlasio, and an all new composition by pianist and Ferguson’s son-in-law, Christian Jacob titled “Lost Horizons” featuring the beautiful flugelhorn played by Ferguson.

Ferguson passed away just three weeks after The One and Only Maynard Ferguson was recorded, at the age 78. What was intended to be just one of many albums recorded, this particular one has evolved into Ferguson’s legacy piece. The One and Only Maynard Ferguson is sure to secure Ferguson’s deserved standing as a legend in the history of American Jazz.



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The One and Only Maynard Ferguson”